Sessions and Curriculum

Please click the buttons below to read more about our sessions.

Pre-school sessions in the hall Music Classes Forest School


Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.

From September 2008 all providers have been required to use the EYFS to ensure that whatever setting parents choose, they can be confident that their child will receive a quality experience that supports development and learning.

The EYFS is based around four themes:

A Unique Child

“Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.”

Positive Relationships

“Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.”

Enabling Environments

“The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.”

Learning and Development

“Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.”

All the staff at Child’s Play have received professional training on implementing the EYFS.  We are more than happy to provide parents with more information on the detailed provisions of the EYFS or you can look on the Department for education website to find out more at &


 Parent’s Guide to revised Early Years Foundation 2012